adjusting chaing

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

adjusting chaing

I need to tighten mine up, its tapping the chain cover during decel. Whats the procedure? I've never done it before.

Loosen the axle nut.
    Loosen the jam nut on the adjuster screws.
    Adjust to proper tension. (Make sure timing marks on sides are the same)
    Tighten Jam nuts on adjusters.
    Tighten Axle nut.
    Replace Cotter pin.
    Ride.

Comment

Adjust when cold, lube when hot.

See above "how to" very simple after you've done it once, with a center stand
      Keith
      -------------------------------------------
      1980 GS1000S, blue and white
      2015Triumph Trophy SE

Ever notice you never see a motorcycle parked in front of a psychiatrist office?

Comment

what about lubing up the clutch cable? Just spray some WD40 down it or do I need to go more in depth with it?

Comment

I check the tension when the bike's off the stands and I'm sitting on the bike. If I figure I need to tighten it, I put the bike on the centre stand and rotate the wheel until I find the loosest spot. Then I go from there. Remember if you've got the axle loose, chain tension will increase once everthing is snugged up. Usually everything works out, but if the chain has an ultra tight spot, you may have to loosen it a bit. 8)
          Kevin
          E-Bay: gsmcyclenut
          "Communism doesn't work because people like to own stuff." Frank Zappa

1978 GS750(x2 "projects"), 1983 GS1100ED (slowly becoming a parts bike), 1982 GS1100EZ,
          Now joined the 21st century, 2013 Yamaha XTZ1200 Super Tenere.

Comment

Originally posted by gasisontheright
            what about lubing up the clutch cable? Just spray some WD40 down it or do I need to go more in depth with it?
            You can use chain lube.