Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Leaking Head Gasket, 80 GS 750

Hello,

This is my first post on this site. I used to own an 81 GS750, loved the bike, was a big mistake ever selling it. I am going to look at an 80 GS750 today, with 27,000MI on it. (is this a lot of miles for an air-cooled engine?) The owner told me it's in "Fair" condition, it runs, but is leaking oil. When I asked him from where he told me he thought it was the head gasket. I do not have a lot of motorcycle experience, however I am a former truck mechanic and I am mechanically inclined. What type of project am I getting myself into if I go for this bike? How much is the gasket and related parts? He is asking $450OBO for the bike, I figured I would offer 200-250 for it.
    Any help or advice would be greatly apprecieated!!

Thanks,
    Greg

27,000 miles is nothing for a bike as long as the fluids have been
    changed on a regular basis and hasn't been beat to s**t. Good price
    for it as well.

You might get lucky and just need to tighten the head bolts per specs.
    If its still leaking then should be replaced. Gaskets are cheap.

Good luck.

Comment

20-30 thousand miles on a GS isnt anything to be concerned about, unless abused like mentioned above.

Should be worth $400 (or more) if actaully "fair".
      http://webpages.charter.net/ddvrnr/GS850_1100_Emblems.jpg
      Had 850G for 14 years. Now have GK since 2005.
      GK at IndyMotoGP Suzuki Display... ... GK on GSResources Page ... ... Euro Trash Ego Machine .. ..3 mo'cykls.... update 2 mocykl

https://imgur.com/YTMtgq4

Comment