Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

1978 GS750 - Single Front Disc Upgrades?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

1978 GS750 - Single Front Disc Upgrades?

Hi,

My first bike was a '78 GS750, and I haven't ridden it for about three years (a '92 Ducati 900SS took its place). I just started riding the '78 again and have found that the front disc performance is APPALLING (granted, I'm not expecting it to be as good as the dual brembo's on the Ducati). Most of the stopping power is provided by the rear disc.

I've done some searching through the forums, and it sounds like converting to a dual-disc front is not just a simple bolt-on upgrade (i.e. requires new triple tree, forks, wheel, rotors, calipers). So, I'm thinking of just upgrading the single-disc setup.

Does anyone know of any manufacturers that sell new bolt-on performance rotors, calipers, pads, brake lines, and master cylinders that will fit the '78?

Thanks for your help,

Erik

Theirs not much to upgrade with the single disk, Need a dual disk set up
    Need to change the master,forks & add a 2 th disk you can use the original wheel ??

Comment

The single undrilled disk will never put you over the bars, especially in the rain, but it should DEFINITELY provide much more stopping power than the rear disc. Sounds like something is up there.

Comment

does your caliper have opposed pistons or is it the sliding type?
        if its the sliding type, take it apart, clean, buff and regrease the slider pins.
        sounds liek you're braking on only one side of the disk. common with those types of calipers if you haent ridden in a while, my kz400 did that a lot

Comment

I have a front end off a 78 GS750 is you want any pieces ewlotter. If this is the route you wanna take I have:

Upper and lower triples, both forks, calipers, wheel, both rotors, axle, speedo drive, etc.

Let me know. Its just sitting in my garage. Was on the road last year.

Mark

Comment