fitting barells over new rings

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

fitting barells over new rings

I am in the proccess of fitting new piston rings on my GSX 750 S1 Katana. I am hoping to fit the barells this weekend.

The manual recommends the use of ring compression clamps ( I dont have a set) but the shop that rebuilt my cylinder head said I should do it manually with small screw drivers.

I've never done this before and I don't want to mess it up. The manual only briefly mentions the proccess and make it sound realy easy( I suspect it's not)

1. what stage of the stroke should I set the pistons at?
    2. Should they all be at the same hiegt?
    3.Does anyone have any tips on making the job easier?

Any advice here would be welcome.

Its best done with two people, I pulled wrenches with one guy for years and we could do this in a couple of minutes.

1. Make sure all gaskets and o rings needed in the base are in place, theres nothing worse that getting the cylinder on just to have to pull it right back off. Make sure your ring end gaps are properly placed.

2. Lay the cam chain in the bottom end in such a way that it is out of the way and won't bother you, if it won't stay out of the way after placing the cylinder on the studs thread the cam chain through and use a piece of wire wrapped around the frame or whatever to hold it up and out of the way.

3. Have two screwdrivers for each of the two people that are going to do the work. Lay them out within easy reach, long shank, small, straight blade carb adjusting type screwdrivers are best

4. Rotate the crank so that the two inner pistons are up at tdc (watch your cam chain, you don't want it getting jammed on the crank). Also watch your base gasket, they sometimes over lap the crankcase and a piston can damage it.