Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

GS850G rear tire question (never done this before!!)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

GS850G rear tire question (never done this before!!)

Just bought me an '81 GS850G, and it's sweet. I love it. I have NO experience, however, working on them, so I have a few questions.
    I'm replacing the rear tire as it is dry rotted to hell, and I bought a MT90HB17 Dunlop Elite II tubless tire. I took the old tire off tonight, and realised there is infact a tube in the old tire. Now, stamped on the rim I see that it says 'tubless applicable' or something to that effect.
    So, my question; is it indeed okay to put a tubless tire on this wheel? Do I need to do anything special? Just wondering if those of you with more experience have any advice. Thanks a bunch.

I think with an '81, you should be OK to put on a tubeless tire. I've heard that older rims (78,79) had a porous alloy that actually leaked air, and you needed to use tubes to prevent slow leaks.

I have an '83 and I installed a tubeless Dunlop Elite that hasn't lost any air at all. But results may vary! If doing it yourself at home, be prepared for a very trying time.

Ace.

Comment

Yup, go tubeless!

The tube may have been someone's attempt at pinching pennies by running a tube instead of replacing a damaged tire or rim. Some old-timers mistakenly think that using a tube is safer somehow. Who knows?

I would definitely check the rim very closely for damage or old rubber buildup in the bead. You can scrub it off with a scotchbrite pad.

You'll get a lot less heat buildup by going tubeless, so the tire will last longer and be more reliable.
      1983 GS850G, Cosmos Blue.
      2005 KLR685, Aztec Pink - Turd II.3, the ReReReTurdening
      2015 Yamaha FJ-09, Magma Red Power Corrupts...
      Eat more venison.

Please provide details. The GSR Hive Mind is nearly omniscient, but not yet clairvoyant.

Celeriter equita, converteque saepe.