'78 GS750 - HELP - Wont start and I am bike retarded

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

'78 GS750 - HELP - Wont start and I am bike retarded

ok so i bought a 1978 gs750 that looks to be in good condition. but i cant get it to start. it pops and backfires and thats it. i.....

replaced spark plugs
    new air filter
    cleaned carbs
    new battery

there is a weak spark on all four plugs. could this be the problem? what would cause this? i heard someone say the words, "bad ignition module".

what is an ignition module, what can i search for on ebay in other to replace one (is it always called an ignition module???) and could this be the solution to all my gs750 woes?

your help is deeply appreciated because i am a poor student.

I dont believe that the 78 750 has an ignition module. I think it is points ignition and that would be the next place to look for trouble. Do you have a book? It will save you lots of agro and educate at the same time. If all four plugs give a weak spark, one could assume that it something that they have in common, the source of 12v from the battery. You could have a bad connection between the battery and the points like the kill switch ect. Keep up the dialog and others more familiar with your particular bike will advise.

Comment

yeah i have the haynes manual but i dont know much of anything about bikes so things like points and ignition module and coils mean little to me.

Comment

Well you should check as many simple things as you can first. Are you sure you didn't mix any of the plug wires up? I don't think weak spark would cause popping and backfiring, but spark at the wrong time sure could.

If you're sure the plug wires are okay you should make sure the ignition timing is within reason. This is described in your shop manual. If you don't have one you really really REALLY should get one. I'm not very happy with my Clymer, it's next to useless. I hear good things about the Haynes manuals.