81 GS450L - Should I rescusitate it?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

81 GS450L - Should I rescusitate it?

Well, I hauled away this bike for free a while ago, and I finally am starting to look at it. It has 42,000 miles. It is a "basket case" - some of it's parts came in a basket.

It has sat for a while in a barn, but this gal looks repairable. I have never worked on motorcycles before, let alone a GS, just cars, trucks, other small engines, snowmobiles...

I'm looking for some advice regarding rescusitation, I can't spend much on it at all, I have other vices to blow money on, too - Here's some observations I've made, with questions:

1) BRAKES: Front hydraulic brakes are seized. Clymer says rebuilding master cylinder and brake pistons requires special tools and expertise. What are my options? Rebuild at shop? How much for that? Replace? How much for that?

2) BRAKES: Rear drum brake sticking (not siezed). This looks doable and inexpensive. Correct?

3) STARTER: Can't get starter to work - ignition coil fried? How can I test that the starter is OK at all? Is the case on the starter grounded? I have to see this engine crank and spark before I'll go any further.

4) FORKS: Two owners ago rebuilt forks, but forgot to put dust caps back on top before putting them back together. Is that a Big Deal if everything else is working? If everything else were working, I'd eventually take the forks apart anyway, and replace the dust caps, but I wonder if I could get by OK.

5) CLUTCH: Got it with chain cover, chain and drive spoket off. Figured out what the clutch pushrod was... is the clutch pushrod supposed to flop in-and-out and spin freely, and not be able to be pulled out? Can I test the clutch motion somehow without putting the cable and cover back together? Or is the fact that the pushrod flopping in and out a clue that the clutch is stuck out?