I dumped my baby today....

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

I dumped my baby today....

Today, in a gas station parking lot, I dropped my 81 GS1100E. I don't quite know what happened. I jumped on the throttle (I always do that, and the front tire got a little air), and I remember something going wrong with my leather jacket sleeve catching (or something, I really haven't figured it out) the wrist saver gadget. I don't know exactly what I did wrong, but after the weight came back to the front tire, next thing I know my bike and I were sliding on the pavement. At first it didn't hurt, but I remember wanting to cry right then and there as I saw/heard my bike crashing and smashing on the pavement... Anyway, I'm OK, some road rash and bruises, and I'm sure I'll be more sore tomorrow.
    The real point of my post is to ask what exactly a particular part is (I'm not a mechanic by any stretch of the imagination). I have a drawing, but I'm not exactly sure where I can put that where ya'll can see it. So, I'll try to explain where I have a concern. Directly in front of the brake lever on the right side, the engine sticks out a bit with a Suzuki label. That part is smashed, and revealed beneath it is something very frayed. The worst part is the the rod that sticks through past a circular part. That rod is severly bent. Would this be the stator? That's what the guy with me thought it might be.
    Based on that rudimentary explanation, does anyone have any ideas? I'd be happy to email the GS1100 cutout from the site. I've edited it to point out the area I'm referring to. There's quite a bit more cosmetic damage, but I think the most expensive is the thing I described above. Thanks in advance.

It sounds like the points/pickups cover. Remove it and inspect for damage. If everything is OK, try and find a new one (and maybe some crash bars).

Comment

OW, I hate it when that happens