Running horrible

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Running horrible

I have an 81 GS1100, it starts very good and I assume idles good (never heard what a properly tuned 1100 sounds like). The problem is when I am riding it, when I increase the throttle the bike begins to sputter and sounds like it is just trying to keep running when under acceleration. I assumed that this was just due to the fact like an idiot I forgot to flush the gas tank and treat the rust in it but when I got I back together it had the same problem. So I again took the carbs off an did a more thorough cleaning with the carb dip. During the dismantling of the carbs I stripped all four of the heads of the air screws and one air jet even with the right tools. So I had to carefully drill them out and use and extractor. But once I get the carbs back together will this fix my original problem? Also since I am a dirt poor college student with about 17 dollars to my name does anyone know where I can get cheap replacements for the screws and jet? Thanks

Adam

Sudco has about the best deal on jets that I know of.

Comment

BTW, if you do a good thorough job of cleaning then it should run great as long as the carbs aren't totally shot and the ignition is in good order.

Comment

The coils failed on my '81 GS1100E at about 11,000 miles. Dyna coils and wires cost me about $120 from Ebay. Installation is do-it-yourself. My bike had been running well, but began to lose power and run very rough intermittently. Later, it ran a little rough all the time. Still, even on those days when it would begin running badly, it would start and idle well until warm. I understand the OEM coils break down under load (like accelerating), at higher rpm, and especially when they heat up: Hence my intermittent problems.

Comment

Originally posted by dietcokeking