Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Wiring Question (with photo) 1982 GS850

Hello people

I have a GS850 1982 and after a nasty piston-valve collision I swapped in a 1981 850 GL engine. Unfortunately I have little electrical experience and cannot find the last four wires and where they go. Its embarassing.

The photo is here

The wire colors are as described

- White and Red
    - Green & White
    - White & Green
    - Black
    ( i do not know the order of stripe and solid)

This comes straight out of the main electrical threading throughout the bike.

*** not to mention they looked hot and slightly melted?!

Pete

Originally posted by petermatra
    Hello people

I have a GS850 1982 and after a nasty piston-valve collision I swapped in a 1981 850 GL engine. Unfortunately I have little electrical experience and cannot find the last four wires and where they go. Its embarassing.

The photo is here

http://www.reddyeno9.com/gselectric.jpg

The wire colors are as described

- White and Red
    - Green & White
    - White & Green
    - Black
    ( i do not know the order of stripe and solid)

This comes straight out of the main electrical threading throughout the bike.

*** not to mention they looked hot and slightly melted?!

Pete
    In looking at the wiring diagram for my bike, and while I don't have all the colors you have, it seems as if those are for the gauge set idiot lights for things like the side stand and neutral indicator. Don't quote me on that though. Someone with an 850 will have to confirm it.

Comment

BTW, don't mistake black for ground. Grounds are black with a white tracer.

Comment

You can power up your electrical system and with a test light operate switches and see which wire works what. Be sure not to ground the wires to anything. That may help you find a couple.
        EULC ON

Comment

Pete, You get it figured out yet?