Can someone straighten me out???

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Can someone straighten me out???

Very new here. I have my first bike. GS250t. It is small, super cheap and perfect for me to learn with. My first in many queastions to come is about carbs and their interaction with exhaust and air filters.

Now after searching and reading I have realized that after you do mods such as aftermarket or homemade exhausts and pods your engine runs lean. (Makes sense) Now can you just increase your fuel mixture to counter the effect of more air flow? And is a rejetting of carbs only to maximise the horsepower of the mods that you do? Or is it that you have to rejet just to have the engine run properly after such air flow type mods?

Whoa! Sorry for such a long one. Any help or advice or whatever you have would be great.

Thanks,
    JP

I'm no carb expert, but you usually can't just turn a screw or two and solve your mixture difficulty with pods and performance exhausts. Off idle, mid-range, and full throttle all use different carb "circuits" and have different adjustments. The mixture and air screws are only a part of the picture when it comes to fuel mixture. Also depends on the bike. Rejetting isn't just for increased performance but also for smooth throttle response.

In general, unless you really enjoy messing around for a while to get it right, its best to keep it stock.
    Last edited by Guest; 04-08-2006, 12:50 PM.

Comment

I see.

I wouldn't really mess with it but unfortunatly the mufflers are falling apart. (I can only use so much patch tape) I purchased a used carb for this bike so I thought I could get to know it a bit without taking apart my bike. Are there any generic universal fit mufflers that would work and possibly look different than the originals?

Thanks for the response!

Comment