wiring burnup and K&N adjustments

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

wiring burnup and K&N adjustments

I have an 83 gs750e and I love the thing. My roomate borrowed it and got rear-ended leaving me with a $1,300 insurance check to use to repair it. I bought all the tuff on ebay for $400 (fairing, turn signals, tail light, instrument cluster, fuel tank, plus a few odds and ends). When I did this I also picked up some K&N air filters. When all the parts arrived I proceded to put them all on. Removing the stock airbox proved to be more difficult than I had anticipated and in my haste I hacksawed it into 5 pieces - big mistake. I'm new at this whole upgrade thing and as my mixture was already a little rich, thought higher air flow would be a simple upgrade. Well now as you have already deduced - I am way lean. The bike idled and warmed up great but when I lay on the gas it bogs down immediately. And because I hacked my airbox up I'm stuck with finding a way to make the K&N's work. A buddy told me I needed to jet my carbs and possibly get the valves ported. Any suggestions.

A second problem occured with my repaires and that is that when I ran the bike for a few minutes the wires that connect to my regulator rectifier started to get hot smoke and melt their sheathing. I have the aftermarket electrex r/r. The turn signals are also not flashing (they come on and stay on). If I tap the relay they will flash so I think it might be bad - or would that happen regardless?

If you have any info on any of these I would love your suggestions and ideas. If you need more info just let me know. Thanks, Adam.