'78 GS 1000 Rear wheel R & R

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

'78 GS 1000 Rear wheel R & R

Hi all. It looks fairly straight forward, but I'm a bike newbie . So how does one remove and replace the rear wheel on a 78 GS 1000? I don't have a shaft or diff to work around, so that should simplify things.

Also, how do you remove and replace the chain?

Get a manual! It walks you right through it. It's pretty straight forward man. Especially easy if you still have your center stand. You absolutely must get a service manual if your going to work on your bike.

Comment

Hoom is right, but I didn't get one for a while either. Take a close look at the axel, and note where all the spacers are. Then just take out the axle, and the wheel is off. Putting it back on is technically simple, but can be frustrating getting everything lined up, having a grunt to help makes it easy, but isn't needed.

Comment

Just make sure you get the chain lined up straight, and your chain is the right tension (controlled by the chain adjusters... the two brackets with adjusting screws on the end of the swingarm)

Comment

Oh, and for the chain, you really just want to cut it off with a cut off wheel. The front sprocket has a 32mm nut holding it on, and before you take the chain off, put a big wrench on that, stand on the rear brake, and loosen her up, maybe you'll get lucky, and it won't be on too tight. An impact wrench makes this job rediculously easy.

Comment

There is no need to remove the axle when taking the rear wheel off a 78 1000.

Simply remove the swingarm end plugs after you have slipped the chain off and slide the wheel right out the back.

Part #26 in this picture. They are straight in the back of the swingarm one on each side.

Last edited by Guest; 04-27-2006, 04:53 PM.

Comment

Originally posted by Hoomgar
              There is no need to remove the axle when taking the rear wheel off a 78 1000.