carb runs perfect until 5000 rpm

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

carb runs perfect until 5000 rpm

1980 GS550T, CV carbs, New Petcock, carbs cleaned 4-5 times, tank cleaned out, I put 102.5 main jets on 2 inner cylinders, I am running 2 pods, K and N specific for my year. Standard pilot jets.
    My problem is that it will only run on prime, once i get it started, which is hard to do, it will idle and run perfect until 5000 rpm, and then it just stops and starts bogging down, like I said if I short shift it and run around town it is perfect until 5000 rpm, I do not have the carb vents hooked up, it seems to run worse with them on. The choke does work. It revs nice in neutral.
    I cheked the plugs and they are all on the tan/lean side, pretty equal on all four cylinders. I have not raised my needles. Is that my next step?
    I have never done that on any bike before. Any help will be appreciated.
    Thanks, Stan

Good chance the bike hasn't been jetted right for those pods. But I don't know why the bike only runs on prime, especially when the petcock is new.
    If your petcock is the type with a screwdriver slot adjuster and only run and prime positions, BOTH positions require vacuum to initiate fuel flow, so it shouldn't be a bad/cracked vacuum hose, nor would it be because the vacuum hose has been hooked up to a vent nipple instead of to a vacuum nipple. If either of these common mistakes were happening here, then BOTH run and prime positions should give the same results.
    But if you have a new petcock that requires vacuum when on run, but requires NO vacuum when on prime, and it only runs in the prime position, then you DO have a bad hose or incorrect hook up.
    You have to first be sure you're getting correct fuel flow through the petcock to feed the carbs.