Blowing Headlamps

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Blowing Headlamps

I want to thank everybody up front for any help I receive on this topic. I have been utilizing this site for a couple of years now and it has helped me greatly. Thank you.

GRRRRRR!!! I don't understand what is happening here. Story goes....

I was getting 17v at my battery terminals and was blowing bulbs. I have since replaced the regulator/rectifier which now all through the rpm range I don't exceed 14.2v. However, I am still getting up to 18v at the headlight connector. WHAT AM I MISSING?!

BTW, I have a 1980 GS550L
    Last edited by Guest; 06-09-2006, 01:50 PM.

Originally posted by dubpander
    I want to thank everybody up front for any help I receive on this topic. I have been utilizing this site for a couple of years now and it has helped me greatly. Thank you.

GRRRRRR!!! I don't understand what is happening here. Story goes....

I was getting 17v at my battery terminals and was blowing bulbs. I have since replaced the regulator/rectifier which now all through the rpm range I don't exceed 14.2v. However, I am still getting up to 18v at the headlight connector. WHAT AM I MISSING?!

BTW, I have a 1980 GS550L
    Bad meter, or some crossed wiring somewhere would be my guess. are you checking the voltage at the headling using the battery as the ground for the meter? Try that, maybe there is a short and some voltage going through the negative wire for the light.

Comment

If you're using a Honda regulator, have you hooked up the brown sense wire to a +12V switched lead? You can't just hook it up to the battery with the red lead or leave it hanging.

Does the R/R have a good ground? Are the connections in the back of the fusebox clean?

Just throwing out some idearrrrs...
      1983 GS850G, Cosmos Blue.
      2005 KLR685, Aztec Pink - Turd II.3, the ReReReTurdening
      2015 Yamaha FJ-09, Magma Red Power Corrupts...
      Eat more venison.