Clutch chatter? Maybe, maybe not.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Clutch chatter? Maybe, maybe not.

I’m new to GSR and what a great site and great bunch of people.

I’ve recently purchased a ’80 GS1000G and I’m having what I believe to be clutch chatter/rattle but I’m not sure.

At low RPM’s with a load i.e. engaging the clutch at take off it makes a chattering noise, it will also do it if I’m bogging a little while accelerating at slow speeds in too high a gear. The clutch doesn’t slip at all but I haven’t really gotten on it (yet:-D ), but under normal riding it doesn’t slip.

The one thing I’m wondering about is when I first got the bike I noticed the oil level was a little low so I added some oil but I over did it a little and now the level may be a little high. Could this be causing my problem? The other thing that comes to mind might be the cam chain rattling.

I want to be sure I’m not doing any damage and/or is this something to worry about. Any suggestions or comments would be appreciated.

Steve

Are you sure it's not just a knock caused by a lean fuel mixture? Try a little high octane and see if it goes away.

Comment

I can't hear the noise, so it's difficult to diagnose, but too much oil is a bad thing. What happens is the the crank whips the oil to a froth. The air bubbles in the oil decrease it's effectivness as a buffer and you get engine damage.

Drain some of it out.

Comment

Originally posted by Billy Ricks
        Are you sure it's not just a knock caused by a lean fuel mixture? Try a little high octane and see if it goes away.
        Well that's simple enought to try. I'll see what happens.

Thanks,
        Steve

Comment

The clutch packs on these bikes are notorious for rattle at low rpms and speeds. What is your idle set at? Some folks have to keep it adjusted even higher than the manual suggests to avoid the rattle on take off.
          Currently bikeless
          '81 GS 1100EX - "Peace, by superior fire power."