Newbie with a Tweaked GS1000G

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Newbie with a Tweaked GS1000G

First , wanted to say hello to all and thanks for a great sight. I have spent the past 2 days using the search function for info. Great stuff! I recently acquired a 80 model GS1000G from fellow board member, Tracker, who happens to be my first cousin. I am an alltrade mechanic for a large paper mill and have a shop on the side so mechanical stuff is my cup of tea. This is my first street bike though. Numerous dirt bikes though.

About the bike, K&N filter pods, V&H headers (lost the megaphone??), and rejetted carb, ACCELL coils and wires. Bike was in the middle of a quick carb cleanup when I got it. It will NOT idle and I have to use starting fluid to get it started cold. Pops and crackles and misses bad but seems to run ok WOT. After searching, Looks like it is time to do the full monty on this thing.
    Get a can fabbed up for the missing megaphone is my first thing to do before the list below.

1. Remove inline fuel filter.
    2. Pull vacuum on petcock and check for operation. If no gas then I can use the Prime setting till parts arrive?? Correct??
    3. pull carbs and completely clean and soak, make note of jet sizes.
    4. reassemble and bench sync butterflies.
    5. Start idle setup and tuning with carb 3 first??
    6. complete tune up with reading of plugs at what throttle stages???
    7. do vacuum synch.

Also, Where can I get a good vacuum synch tool and a set of the pug flame viewer thingys. I like the idea of setting the idle with flame color as wel as plug reading.

K&N filter pods.... Will they work after a proper tune?? I have heard horror stories about these things, but I have the patience...IF they can be made to work! Will they create enough vacuum at the air end to get the thing started cold? I can remove them and hold my arm over the throats to block some air and I can get it started. Will this go away after a proper carb tune?