1979 gs750e carb questions

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

1979 gs750e carb questions

hi everybody. i build bike frames and do metal fab as a sideline, as a day job i'm a synthetic chemist. the new thing that customers have been asking me for is to take older honda and suzuki motocycles, get them running properly, and then take the motor/trans, brakes, etc... all the reusable parts off the donor bike and put them in custom frames. this is a good way to get a really nice custom or chopper for little money, because with my shop rates (40$ an hour) the frame and the sheet metal and paint come cheap and it's the huge cost of harley drivelines that hold people back. anyhow, i know lots about welding, some about machining, and not near enough about carbs. all of a sudden i live in a world dominated by these four-wide banks of japanese carbs, and i don't know how to adjust them or synch them. here are the questions:

1- the current bike i just got running is a 1979 gs750e with 22k miles. the airbox is gone and pods installed, the pipe is aftermarket 4 into 1, after removing and cleaning the carbs thoroughly (and i do mean thoroughly- synthitic chemists make REALLY good carb cleaner, lol) i reassembled the carb bank and installed it. the bike fired right up, but it appears to be running a little cool on the second cylinder from the starboard side. also, the thing idles at 3k rpm, and i'm guessing that's 2k rpm too high. the idle adjustment that is ganged to all four carbs is fully turned out and therefore has no effect on idle at the moment. there are two adjustment screws on each carb- one on the side, easy to get to; and one on the bottom, more of a pain to get to. what's the best way figure out what beginning screw settings should be? once i have a good beginning point i should have little troble tuning and synching.
    2- the kit i got for synching is mercury based and rather flimsy, not a good combo. will buying four of the dial type like this: