X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

running problems

GS550L Custom US import
    1980 V
    k&n's (with electrical tape around them?????)

its a long story but i will try to be brief

i had a car accident and couldnt ride my bike due to injury, and a friend was up the swanny with no transport so i (stupidly) lent them my bike, they were supposed to have got it tuned etc and done a respray on it as a way of a thankyou.

well several months go by and eventually i just go over there and take my bike back, its paintwork is still the same and it runs like... well a hairdryer has more umph.

im not experienced with this sort of thing, but i can change things like chain and sprockets, and general maintenance

i can however follow instructions, so if anyone has any suggestions i will gladly try them out because i am unable to ride my beloved bike and i cant get a bike shop round her to be remotely interested in it, as soon as i tell them the age they suck air in through their teeth and say no way.

So far ive learnt that the reason for the tape on the k&ns is that a previous owner would have put the new air filters on but not jetted the bike up and therefore had to reduce the air flow with the tape.

i therefore made enquiries as to what jets i would need to put in the carbs to correct this and the local bike shop told me that they had no idea as no one does and couldnt help me????

ive tried to find an original air box but so far no luck but the search does continue.

the symptoms now -

i can get it started and although it struggles it will tick over for a bit

when revved im guessing that at about 3-3.5k it deads out, like a massive flat spot that has no end, it just makes this boar noise.

if anyone knows what jets i need to change, and to what sizes that would be great

oh and what the make of my carbs

oh and its been suggested that the timing could have wandered out, so if anyone has an idiots guide to checking/setting the timing up that would be great