GS650L Fuel overflow from carbs when bike turns over

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

GS650L Fuel overflow from carbs when bike turns over

I just got a 1981 GS650L with four carbs hooked onto each pipe, the bikes been sitting for about 20 years. Has 200 miles on it, I got a new battery and fixed the started it turns over and runs for about 10 seconds until fuel starts pooring out of the overflow from the carbs and the airbox overflow tube. I took apart the carbs this afternoon and cleaned it but I'm new to this and I don't know how the carb is suppost to look inside I cleaned it best I could I think it is most likely the float values that are stuck open but how do I tell. It floods the bike and then stops after about 5-10 seconds of running. poors around a cup of fuel out everytime I try to turn it over.

I can't provide a solid answer to your dilemma (there are more experienced folks that can), but I will give you a few things to think about. First off, you may have gas in your oil as a result of this overflow. You should probably change the oil before you try to restart the beast. Obviously, it won't do you much good to change the oil until you've fixed the problem. You may want to start with your petcock. It should have three positions: on (ON), prime (PRI), and reserve (RES). If you leave it in the PRI position, I believe it will overflow the bowls as you described. In the ON position it operates on the engines vacuum. To test the petcock, position it to ON and disconnect the fuel line and the vacuum line. Fuel should not flow (if it does, the petcock is bad). If you apply vacuum to the vacuum line (use a vacuum pump or your mouth), fuel should flow from the fuel line. As far as the carb disassembly goes, check out http://www.thegsresources.com/gs_carbrebuild.htm. There is a lot of good information in the GS Garage.

Comment