Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

1982 GS650GLZ questions

Ok...It doesn't start, why? LOL

Ok...more information, but I couldn't resist the whole newbie sounding question.

So far, I have found a rectifier/regulator ground wire that is unhooked, i.e. to any place. I'm thinking that grounding that some place, throwing in my new battery and some gas should allow it to start. Supposedly, according to the P.O. there was one wire missing, and I think that's it.

But...I'm not an expert, so I'm looking for some expert advice/suggestions/whatever.

The other question is regarding shifting. It's a 5 speed, but I'm only able to get it into 3rd, I think. I have to actually get the bike running first. The shift pattern shows a circle, which I have never seen before. I thought that motorcycles were vertical shifters. So...am I doing something wrong in reading it?

Thanks for the help.

Your bike should start and run even if your R/R is bad. Jump your battery with a car battery (car not running) and see if that makes a dfference. It should at least turn over rapidly even if it doesn't start.

As to the transmission, I would reserve judgement on that until the bike is running and transmission shafts are rotating. It will probably shift fine.

Comment

The bike has a standard shifting pattern, 1st is down, then up to N, 2, 3, 4, 5. The circle is deceptive.

What color wire is disconnected at the R/R?

Comment

The wire itself is a bit deceptive. LOL It's black/white. But, according to Clymer's that's the ground, which should be black. LOL

I just have to find someplace to ground it to, which shouldn't be terribly difficult, considering the frame sits around it. LOL

I noticed that it's missing the air boot, which hooks the air filter to the carbs. Also, I have to figure out the whole fuel line situation, since they seem to be partly there, and partly not. LOL I think that's just a couple of hoses and I'm done though. Just have to route them right.