Wow! What a change.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Wow! What a change.

I've owned my 1980 GS1100 for almost exactly two years now. Just this weekend, I put my 4000th mile on her (24k, total). Up until a few months ago, she was very temperamental with starting/idleing. Lots of bucking and sputtering. I'd have give lots of choke for 5 or 10 minutes before I could ride. I could never get the idle down below 1500. When she did idle, her RPMs would surge.

Not being a mechanical guy by trade or hobby, I was reluctant to do anything beyond the basics (oil change, spark plugs, carb synching, etc) because I was afraid that I would do more harm than good.

Fate stepped in a few months ago. My chain was just too stretched to ride, which means I would (gasp!) have to work on her.

I took the opportunity to do a 530 conversion and change the ratio from 2.8 down to 2.6. Since I already was doing work, I decided to do a thorough cleaning of the carbs, which included overnight dips in "Gunk", and replace the o-rings. After cleaning and reassembling 3 of the 4 carbs, the last screw I had to remove from the final carb got stuck.

LESSON #1: While force might end up being the answer, when something gets stuck and you've been working all day, walk away for a little while and come back with a fresh set of eyes.

I ended up making a big mess of the air screw and had to hand it off to somebody else to try and extract it.

I bought another set of carbs off of ebay and went through the same procedure. When the last screw on the last body (again, the air screw) got stuck, I took heed of my lesson and walked away for a little while. When I came back, I used finesse instead of force and got the screw out lickety-split.

With the addition of some nice new stainless cap head bolts, the 20+ year old carbs looked pretty darn nice back on the bike. Although she needed a little extra cranking on the Start button, she fired right up.

All I can say now is WOW.