1981 GS550L Fuel Valve

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

1981 GS550L Fuel Valve

I have a 1981 GS550L and I am having trouble starting. Was running fine But I was cleaning it last night and I took off the gas tank. When I did so I put the fuel valve on RES. Then I went for a ride and absentmindly left it on reserve. I bogged down and had to stop. The tank is full of gas. Now I can't get it started. I don't know which position the valve is it be set. I don't have an "ON" position. I only have "FULL", "RES", and "PRI" positions. What position is to be set when riding. Could I have flooded the bike and that is why I can't get it running now? I tried all the positions. However, I have only had the bike for a month now and I am a novice when it comes to mechanics. Any onther Bike I have seen has "RES", "ON", and "OFF" positions. I am confused and I don't have an owners manual. Does anyone know how I can get an owners manual for a 1981 GS550L?

I don't want to insult your intelligence, but here goes. You don't have an "Off" position. The valve is vacuum actuated so its "Off" when the engine isn't running. The "Full" or "On" position is the setting to use after you've filled the tank. Leave it there until it begins to sputter or lose power. You've reached the reserve position and need to set it to "Res" to allow the remaining gas to flow till the carbs while you find a gas station. If the bike has sat for a while the gas in the carb bowls or resoivoirs could have evaporated. Turn it to prime so that gas can flow to the carbs without the engine vacuum being present to open the valve. Wait about a minute for the carbs to refill, start the bike and return it to the "Full" position or the "Res" if necessary.