What do I tackle first? 82GS1100GK

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

What do I tackle first? 82GS1100GK

Well it's a GK but I've taken the fairing and bags off so I'm calling it a G (shaft) now. And I'm a total newbie... decent mechanical sense but I'm ignorant to many of the names of the parts I'm dealing with, so bear with me. I've also been studying the carb rebuild section for a while and lurking the Tech threads, so fortunately, I am somewhat prepared, but still befuddled by much of what I read because I lack much of the terminolgy...

First things first...

1. I'm removing the tank (which has some light interior rust) and cleaning it. I've had several suggestions on methods for doing this and any other opinions or things to watch out for would be great.

2. I still have to remove the rear mounts for the luggage. I noticed it's mounted behind the top mount for the shocks. At least the top part of the shock will need to be pulled loose in order to remove the mounts. What will happen when I do this? Am I in for any surprises or pitfalls?

3. Gas is leaking from carb #4 with the petcock ON and engine not running and hardly any gas in the tank. I realize a carb rebuild is in order, and I'm sure I can do it, but i'd like to get a little more experience before I start this process.

4. Oil is leaking from the gasket on the left side engine cover. I guess it's called the engine cover... it's the big one that has the Suzy stamp on it. Any resources out there that give detailed info on the actual technical terms for each of these common parts? As in more than "this the clutch lever, these are the handle bars, this is a wheel" but more about the engine and tranny and shaft stuff? I need to get my terminology up to speed... again.. any pitfalls I should expect here? Anything else to look for when this cover comes off?