Wherte do I begin ?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Wherte do I begin ?

As an absolute beginner to the motorcycling world (apart from a 250 Offroad when I was young) Ive just bought a 1977 GS750 which was used as a parts bike.
    Ive bought a service manual, and thats where im beginning. So please excuse my lack of knowledge.
    Im posting this message to the technical sections, as I have no idea where to begin work on my bike.
    The bike hasnt run in about 2 years (I think) but the engine turns freely, and it sounds like the compression is good.
    Any advice on what a good approach would be ? Remove and strip the engine down ?
    Please see the attached images to get an idea of what im working with.

This forum has been a brilliant source of inspiration so far!
    Cheers in advance for any advice!

PS. I know the images are small, but I will post some Higher res. pics elsewhere on the site.

Don't rip the engine apart unless you know that there is a good reason to. First thing, start by making a list of the parts that are missing from the bike. After you get the list together, start getting the parts together...unless it makes sence to buy a second bike and use this one for a donor. Your pics are too small for me to see how much is missing, but these bikes are simple and lots of parts a availible so you should be able to bring it back to life pretty easy. Post or PM me with what you have and we can try to see where you need to go from here.
    1981 GS 450L

2007 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Custom

The good we do no one remembers.
    The bad we do no one forgets.

Mark 5:36 -- Overhearing what they said, Jesus told him, "Don't be afraid; just believe".

Comment

Do you have a key and good battery, or at least one that will hold a charge for a while? You've got a lot of things to figure out ahead of you, but those two things would probably be a good start.