Cruiser?? or not??

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Cruiser?? or not??

I'm fairly new to motorcycling, so I don't know the difference between a cruiser and whatever. The '82 GS850 I bought will need a lot of ebay purchaces, but I don't know if it is a GS850G or GS850GL. How do I tell. I think the turn signal lights are different, someone said the GL has a fuel level indicator - I don't know. Can anyone tell me what to look for?

Thanks in advance for any info.

Terry

Terry, the L models all have a tear drop shaped gas tank (as oppossed to the large rectangular shape of the G) - the side covers should have badges that state gs850g or gs850L (provided you have the side covers) - but the easiest way to tell is with the seat and the front forks - the seat on an L is 2 levels - low for the driver and high for the rider - the G seat is almost flat. The forks on an L model will have the front wheel mounted ahead of the forks and on the G model the front wheel will be mounted below the forks. Hope this helps 8)

Comment

You can also check out this web site - www.suzukicycles.org - there are photos and descriptions of just about every Suzi ever built 8)

Comment

Thanks, Leon. Looks like I have the GL. The seat that came with it is not the right seat, and there were no side covers. I've got a lot of work to do to restore it, but when I only paid 86.01 for it, I think I can afford to put some money into it. Just hope I didn't get shafted. Wait, I did get shafted.

Terry

Comment

Originally posted by TheNose
          Thanks, Leon. Terry
          You can call me Ray or you can call me Jay (Mark works really well) ... just don't call me "Leon" 8)

Comment

Originally posted by shaftzuki
            Thanks, Leon. Terry
            You can call me Ray or you can call me Jay (Mark works really well) ... just don't call me "Leon" 8)