Starter Clutch Set

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Starter Clutch Set

The engine was making this funny noise and opened the side where the stator is thinking that it may have come loose.
    I am new to bikes and know absolutely nothing about them.
    I found that the Starter Clutch Set part that has a metal retainer has blown one of three retainers? braking the metal plate.
    The bike works fine but has trouble starting.
    Now, I am looking for the Rotor Removal Tool to have the broken part replaced.
    I have a GS1100g 1982...
    I need lots of help here before I start disassambling the bike.
    What is this tool and is there any paper here to guide me throw the task?

I have lots of experience with cars but am totally unaware of bikes nomenclature or procedures. It seems pretty easy as long as I have the tool needed.

Any advise?

JRS

I see them on Ebay all the time. I think they are called a rotor puller.
    1983 GS 1100E w/ 1230 kit, .340 lift Web Cams, Ape heavy duty valve springs, 83 1100 head with 1.5mm oversized SS intake valves, 1150 crank, Vance and Hines 1150 SuperHub, Star Racing high volume oil pump gears, 36mm carebs Dynojet stage 3 jet kit, Posplayr's SSPB, Progressive rear shocks and fork springs, Dyna 2000, Dynatek green coils and Vance & Hines 4-1 exhaust.
    1985 GS1150ES stock with 85 Red E bodywork.

Comment

Try www.repairmanual.com

or

www.motocom.com

Both names are for the same company. They have good prices (perhaps better than you will get on e-Bay) and truly excellent customer support.

Oil the threads on the tool before use.

When you install the new parts, use a thread sealant (blue) on the small bolts. Red might be OK on the shaft threads, but if you tighten it well blue will do nicely. The threads on the main shaft and the shaft itself must NOT have any oil whatever on them until the work is finished.
      Bertrand Russell: 'Men are born ignorant, not stupid. They are made stupid by education.'