Gs850 Carbs.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Gs850 Carbs.

I have just bought a set of CV carbs for my GS850. I am running a standard air box.

Could someone please explain the process of "setting up" the carbs?
    Do I fit the carbs to the engine side first or to the air box first?
    You might have realised by now that this is my first time!

Thanks,
    Chris

What year is your bike?
    Did you have carbs on the bike before the purchase?
    Are you referring to removing the carbs or installing?
    You need to make sure the jetting is right for your bike before installing the carbs.
    1983 GS 1100E w/ 1230 kit, .340 lift Web Cams, Ape heavy duty valve springs, 83 1100 head with 1.5mm oversized SS intake valves, 1150 crank, Vance and Hines 1150 SuperHub, Star Racing high volume oil pump gears, 36mm carebs Dynojet stage 3 jet kit, Posplayr's SSPB, Progressive rear shocks and fork springs, Dyna 2000, Dynatek green coils and Vance & Hines 4-1 exhaust.
    1985 GS1150ES stock with 85 Red E bodywork.

Comment

Originally posted by chef1366 View Post
      What year is your bike?
      Did you have carbs on the bike before the purchase?
      Are you referring to removing the carbs or installing?
      You need to make sure the jetting is right for your bike before installing the carbs.
      Thanks for the quick response.
      The engine is a 1979 which had slide carbs originally......but I fitted a new head from a 1980 bike so I needed a set of CV carbs from a 1980 bike.......it's a long story!!!!
      So, I have a '79 engine with a '80 top end complete with new inlet manifolds to suit. I also have an air box from the 1980 bike.
      The CV carbs came from a 1980 bike which was broken for spares. It was running before it was damaged in an accident.
      So, the carbs match the head and air box what I need to know is, what do I do next regardig the instalation and set up.

Thanks again
      Chris

Comment