Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

oil in carbs?

i have a 1980 gs850gt
    i'm pretty new to this whole thing, have some popping problems when i'm decelerating or maintaining speed, so i've taken the bike apart to try and fix it up.
    1) found that there was no gasket from one of the exausts to the cylinder - might that cause the popping? i've ordered 4 new ones
    2) there is oil leaking from the boot where carb #1 (farthest left when sitting on bike) meets the air cleaner housing. is this normal? there is also a small puddle of oil in the bottom of the air cleaner housing, also normal?
    3)the carbs all look really clean, i think they were cleaned not too long a go (i just bought the bike)
    4) the exhaust pipes are all black inside, except one which is white (#3 from left) - what does this mean?
    5) the breather hose from the crankcase to the air cleaner has some gummed up oil in it (not much, but its definitely there) - is this a problem? also it smells slightly of gas - is this bad?

any help would be much appreciated - i've consulted the shop manual but haven't found many answers...
    thanks!
    -nick

In my opinion:
    1)yes
    2)Not normal. Oil is being forced through the breather on top of the valve cover back into the airbox. Is your oil overfilled? I seem to remember cam timing being off can cause this too but I'm not sure about that one.
    3)Clean inside or just looks clean and purdy on the outside?
    4)#3 is running lean.
    5)yes.

Comment