Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Newbie GS700ES, carb issue?

Hello all,

First off, I just wanted to say how awesome this forum is, I've gotten tons of great info from here. Thanks!

Now, to my bike problems:

I just picked up an 85 gs700es with 19k on the clock. Bike had a fouled plug when I first went to look at it, the PO replaced the plug and she ran great for about a week. Until I apparently ran out of gas. First time this had happened to me, and I pulled a total newb move by having no idea what was going on (apparently the red mark on the oh-so-convenient gas gauge does not mean you have plenty of gas left, it means get thine petcock to reserve!), and yelled obscenities at the spitting and sputtering bike and its previous owner all the way to a conveniently located gas station. D'oh!

Now, the bike idled a bit rough and was quite cold blooded when I first got it, but this has taken on a whole new dimension. The whole way home from the gas station, idle was at about 500-600 and I kept stalling out at lights. Finally made it home, and the next day was no start. I figured I may have drained the battery with those continued restarts at lights, so I charged the battery, and re-replaced the plugs as the PO had *said* that all the plugs were new, but that wasn't the case.