Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Synthetic vs. Traditional Oil For 1978 GS100E

Hell,

Just trying to get back on the road after a wreck in '91 that put me on dissability for 6 years. I bought a 1978 GS1000E with 24K on it and NO oil cooler in Decemebr of 2006. Just got it running right and it's almost road ready. My Clymer Manual suggests traditional 10W40 and I was going to use Castrol's GTX 10W40 but I've heard "dino" oil may not be the best way to go.

I'm not a mechanic or motorhead - just a rider in need of some good, sound advice. Would a synthetic oil be better in an old dinosaur like a 1978 GS1000E or should I stick to the traditional 10W40 dino oil?

I hoe to ride year round. Any suggestions on particular types of oil and viscosity - even general info on the topic would be extremely helpful?

Thanks for your time, I appreciate it.

Dave R

Just trying to get back on the road after a wreck in '91 that put me on dissability for 6 years.
    I went through a similier experience (but not caused by a wreck). Glad your making it back.

And, here we go again. :-D Usually when the "what kind of oil" question is asked (about every month or two), about 40% of the people say that any name brand oil that is not specified as "Energy Conserving" is fine. About 20% say to use any motorcycle specific oil, and about 40% say synthetic is best.

You can read all about it here; http://www.thegsresources.com/_forum...&highlight=oil

And here; http://www.thegsresources.com/_forum...&highlight=oil
    Last edited by Guest; 04-22-2007, 07:43 PM.

Comment