Exhaust Mod Advice

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Exhaust Mod Advice

Helloooooooooo, GS Forum! This is my first time posting here, so please let me know if you need my question to be more specific.

Last summer I bought an '82 GS750TZ which wasn’t running. My mission was to bring it back to life, which I did. Boy she runs great. I knew NOTHING about engines or motorcycles before I bought her, and now I'm a regular journeyman bike mechanic. I rebuilt carbs, front forks, brake calipers and drums, replaced gaskets and chains and sprockets, and on and on.

On to my question: I am interested in replacing my original 4 into 2 exhaust with a Vance & Hines 4 into 1. My questions are:

1) is this a difficult mod to do for an armature mechanic? I know it involves rejetting carbs and basic engine work, which I am capable of, what I cannot handle is custom welding, tube bending, etc.

2) I have attempted to contact V & H and some of their vendors to figure out which model of their 4 into 1 Street Megaphone suits my particular model. No answer. If V & H won’t work, can anyone suggest another manufacturer? I'm looking for classic chrome stuff, not sportbike.

3) Has anyone done this and can recommend the mod, or advise against it? Is it worth the trouble and $$$? Does it sound good, or like crapola?

Thanks in advance for your help. I hope I followed your forum rules... apologies if I didn't.

Mike
    Chicago, Illinois

Call the guys at: www.crc2onlinecatalog.com (317-634-7550) and talk to them about it. They were very helpful. I just purchased a MAC 4-1 for my 82' GS850G.

The guy said I don't need to rejet, but I posted a question on how to determine whether I do or not.

Charles...

Comment

Wow! This site is awesome. I don't know how I haven't run into it yet since I buy so many parts online. Thanks.

Are you happy with the Mac 4-1? Does it sound pretty good?