X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

What's the proper name of this screw?

In the carb rebuild howto it's called an Air Screw
    motorcycle.com calls it a a Fuel Screw
    motorcyclecarbs.com calls it a Pilot Screw.
    Other places I've seen it called a Mixture Screw.

So what is it really?

Not that I'm an expert or anything, but I think mix screw is the best term that I've seen used most. It makes sense, as it controls the air/fuel mixture.

Comment

That is the mixture screw. As already said, it meters the combined air and fuel.

Earl
      Komorebi-The light filtering through the trees.

I would rather sit on a pumpkin and have it all to myself than be crowded on a velvet cushion. H.D.T.

Comment

It is not a screw at all. It has machine gauge threads, and it is uniform in shape, so it is a tapered-tip bolt.

On this forum, you should just refer to it as a mixture screw, as everyone will understand it.
        Bertrand Russell: 'Men are born ignorant, not stupid. They are made stupid by education.'

Comment

I call it an air screw.

Comment

Fredrick or Fred for short
            GSX1300R NT650 XV535

Comment

Proper terminology, or lack thereof, is one of my pet peeves.

According to my 83 GS550E/ES factory service manaul, the proper term is "Pilot Screw". That's even the term they used in the carb spec chart. Unfortunately, uniform terminology is not something in effect here and, IMHO, that causes a lot of confusion for all of us. I always try to use factory/manufacturer terminology to ensure clarity, but I've seen several commonly used but incorrect terms used for this part, including:

Air Screw
              Air fuel adjustment screws
              Air/fuel Mixture Screws
              Fuel Flow Screw
              Idle Screw
              Mix Screw
              Pilot Air Screw
              Pilot Air Jet
              Pilot Jet (this one's just plain wrong as this is the proper name for a different part)

...and, I'm sure, many more.