more on charging systems

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

more on charging systems

Hello GS World.......I'm a newbie to Suzuki and GS's. I just bought an '80 GS 1000 G and hope I haven't done something foolish after reading all the electrical problems to anticipate. We'll see. Anyways...I have a couple of questions...
    1. Is it still conventional wisdom to replace the stock regulator?
    2. While checking my charging system, the voltage rises with engine RPM to about 13.9 V and then starts to drop off. In the FAQ section it makes reference to this, but also seems to suggest that this might be normal. I think the wording was "let your pocket book be your guide" Does anyone have any more comments on this particular charging issue?

Thanks very much for any comments !! Cheers

having a roller bearing engine far far far out ways the ills of the GS charging system (which can be taking care of with relative ease.. depending on the bike, you may have no problem with the charging at all)

Comment

The first thing to do is clean up all the ground connections (sandpaper and contact cleaner) and then add another ground wire to another point on the motor. I just ran another 12ga. wire to one of the bolts on top of the crankcase and now the bike starts right up with the starter whereas before, I usually had to kickstart it.

I've also replaced my R/R with the SH538 or whatever it is and the battery is now charging great! Some people splice the black wire (powers R/R when ignition is on) with the brake light but I found it easier and cleaner to solder the lead to the turn signal lead in the back of the fuse panel. If you're good with an iron, it's the easiest and cleanest way to go. Good luck.

What's funniest about me posting is that I've owned my 79 GS850 for just over a month and have found so much help here I'm already giving advice! If you do a search in this forum, you ought to be able to find the answer to just about ANY problem you might be having.