Can I soak my chain?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Can I soak my chain?

I know this is a newbie question but hey, I'm a newbie. I would like to clean up my chain on my '83 550e. It has a small bit of rust on it an dI would like to soak it. It's an o-ring chain so I'm pretty sure WD40 would just dry up the inner lube, right? If anybody has any suggestions I'd love to hear them.
    Thanks
    P.S. I know most of you guys will tell me to replace it but it's really just a get going and sell it type of bike.

I work in a place where there are overhead doors which use a chain. The door is constantly being sprayed with water, it is a truck wash. The chain is literally soaked with water 15-20 times a day. I use a mixture of 50/50 diesel fuel and gear oil which I keep in a windex type spray bottle. I soak it down with this mixture weekly and rarely will the chain start to rust unless I neglect it for a couple weeks. IT IS NOT an O ring type chain and I'm not sure if it would effect the O rings or not. I would assume that since it was designed for oiling that the addition of the diesel fuel to the oil would not bother the O rings at all. If someone here knows differently I'm sure they will say so.

Comment

My chain is soaked in a motor oil bath 100% of the time, right between the cylinders.

Nick

Comment

Originally posted by Nick Diaz
        My chain is soaked in a motor oil bath 100% of the time, right between the cylinders.

Nick
        Mine Too, Aint it Great.

Comment

Mine Too, Aint it Great.

Yeah! I have 64,000 miles on this bike, all with the original chain and sprockets... Imagine that!

Some day the chain gang will learn...

Nick

Comment

Mine Too, Aint it Great.

Yeah! I have 64,000 miles on this bike, all with the original chain and sprockets... Imagine that!

Some day the chain gang will learn...

Nick