Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

turn signals not working on 79 GS1000

hey all -

first time motorcycle owner here. just finished my MSC over the past weekend, and picked up a 79 GS1000 Sunday night. so far, i love it! it has a few of the common issues such as the infamous clutch rattle and tach cable oil leak (will take care of this weekend), but other than that it is a smooth rider.

one thing i can't figure out is why i do not have any turn signals. they don't turn on at all. the fuse is OK, but that's honestly as much as i have checked. when i push the turn signal button, nothing happens. i don't feel any sort of engagement that would indicate to me that the light is on, but since this bike is new to me, maybe that's normal?

any help would be greatly appreciated. please keep in mind, i'm a complete newb to any bike, let alone this guy. i am a gearhead, though, so don't feel you have to dumb it down TOO much.

thanks!

Mike

Originally posted by whiteboyslo View Post
    hey all -

first time motorcycle owner here. just finished my MSC over the past weekend, and picked up a 79 GS1000 Sunday night. so far, i love it! it has a few of the common issues such as the infamous clutch rattle and tach cable oil leak (will take care of this weekend), but other than that it is a smooth rider.

one thing i can't figure out is why i do not have any turn signals. they don't turn on at all. the fuse is OK, but that's honestly as much as i have checked. when i push the turn signal button, nothing happens. i don't feel any sort of engagement that would indicate to me that the light is on, but since this bike is new to me, maybe that's normal?

any help would be greatly appreciated. please keep in mind, i'm a complete newb to any bike, let alone this guy. i am a gearhead, though, so don't feel you have to dumb it down TOO much.

thanks!

Mike