Running on one. (cylinder that is)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Running on one. (cylinder that is)

I have a 1979 GS750L that I have been working on for the last two months. I have been having a problem that when I start it for the first after it has been sitting for a while. It will idle for ok, but if I shut it down then try and start it back up after sitting for about a minute It will be hard to start and will only run on one cylinder and eventually dies. I have adjusted the points it ran better but after I shut it down It went back to running on one cylinder. I check that spark and on cylinders 2,3,4. It was really weak but on cylinder one it was stronger. I pulled the plugs when it first started acting up. The 1,4 plug were darkened from firing but the 2,3 plugs looked new. Also the 2,3,4 plug were wet. I swap the 1,4 plug wires and it didn't make a diffrence it was still only running on the number one cylinder. I just have run out of Ideas on what could be wrong and could use any help.

Your mixture is too rich and your spark is too weak. When you first start the bike (after it not having been run for a while) the plugs are nice and dry and the carb bowls are not overly full (some fuel has evaporated from sitting), so it will run OK initially. The longer it runs, the wetter those rich cylinders/plugs get. The weak spark makes things even worse. Eventually those cylinders cut out from over-richness.
    Switching the wires may not prove anything because the good carb/cylinder may be just good enough that even a weak spark won't make it cut out eventually.
    This scenario is commonly due to one or more of the following:
    1. Imperfectly sealing float needle valves
    2. Leaking floats
    3. Wrong float height
    4. Low compression (typically due to insufiicient valve clearance - but can be bad rings, head gasket leak, etc.)