Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

GS550E (?) new owner forks inner tube question

Hey guys-
    I just bought a crashed GS550 i got it home started to look things over asses the damage and figure out what needs replacement. Long story short, and body aside I need to replace the inner tubes on the fork(s) and/or replace the whole fork. My bike has the modular brake valve on the forks so that has made it very difficult to find direct replacements. Anyways the family company builds heat treat equipment and i was considering making new inner tubes but i cant seem to get the old ones out, they have 2 small dings where the triple tree was connected but no other damage. Any advice? A picture walk through would be helpful I have a repair manual for GS550 E/ES but that is minimally helpful because the illustrations dont make much sense to me. I'm a newb to this whole motorcycle thing (although i have worked on cars for most of my life). BTW it's a 1983 (it somehow only have 10k miles). I'll also be needing one Modular valve assem. any ideas on sourcing that? I found one website that had then new but they were ~$180/ea
    TIA
    -Alex
    Last edited by Guest; 06-18-2007, 01:46 AM.

Where are you located? I swapped out for a different front end, so I have all of the old parts from my '83.

Comment

Originally posted by LeeGS550E View Post
      Where are you located? I swapped out for a different front end, so I have all of the old parts from my '83.
      Michigan but i would gladly pay for shipping.
      -Alex

Comment

If Lee's set doesn't make it...

In illinois there's a guy that will re-do down tubes... On my bike I have a set of "forks by frank"...

his prices aren't too bad though you'll have to call to get a price quote...