Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Got bike from shop today...(sigh)

Hey folks,

Got my '81 GS 650G back from the shop today. Was so excited to finally be able to ride it since I got about a month ago. They rode around the shop to my truck and loaded it up. Great right? 90 minute drive home, unload it and the damn thing won't run very long. Have it full choked, will start (most times), but won't stay running long. When I gently use the throttle it kills it. When I first got it started, I left it running for (what I thought was a good warm up), took choke off..it died. Now I can barely get it started ( at least till the battery died). Any advice here? Consider me a total newbie to bikes and all things mechanical, which I am.

Here is a list of what they did for me:
    cleaned carbs
    Pipe intake RH and LH
    O ring intake
    gasket float c
    throttle cable
    clutch cable
    with 6 hours labor (sighs)

I really, really don't want to pay for more labor..

I am no expert but had similar problem when I got one of mine back from shop. They had pinched the fuel line when the put tank back on. Also, make sure you have enough gas not to be in RESERVE position. Sounds like fuel starvation to me.

Comment

it sounds like your bike has been gone through pretty good. just start with the easy stuff and go from there...

have you looked into the idle adjustment screw (knob) between your carbs? it might have been turned down when the bike was last running, say at the shop, and now needs a few turns to the right in to hold idle when it is cold

you might want to pull the plugs and tell us what you see. they might be fouled and interrupting spark

i wouldn't count on the shop having done perfect work at this point, so you could look into the throttle cable adjustments to rule them out

just some things to try

Comment

Got Gas?

Your repair list didn't say anything about giving you a tank of gas so if you haven't check it, make sure you have enough gas.