Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Engine Problem

Hello,
    I am new to motorcycles and just recently purchased a 1985 GS550L. Prior to me buying the bike, it had been sitting in a shed for about two years. Supposedly the bike had ran fine before being stored, and all it needed was a carb rebuild and tune-up. I got the bike home and tore into it, cleaning the carb, with new needles and seats and a petcock rebuild kit. The wiring was a mess, with duct tape used to help splice a few wires together and a few wires cut completely. We fixed most of the wiring and have been trying to get the bike to run. It will not even sputter or run, except on two occasions it ran for less than ten seconds. The first time only the second cylinder was firing, then the next day only the first and fourth would fire. The engine has compression, spark, and fuel is in the carbs. Any ideas why the bike will not run?
    Thanks for any input,

Eric
    85' GS550L

When you say you cleaned the carbs what did you do exactly? It's always best to do a complete tear down since the various o-rings get dried out and leak. Also, the pilot circuit is deep inside the carbs and the jet has a very small orifice which most people miss the first time. Lastly, the carb boot o-rings are sure to be hard and leaking if you didn't replace them. All of this stuff is the right of passage for getting a "ran when parked" GS back on the road.

Good luck.
    Ed

To measure is to know.

Mikuni O-ring Kits For Sale...https://www.thegsresources.com/_foru...ts#post1703182

Top Newbie Mistakes thread...http://www.thegsresources.com/_forum...d.php?t=171846

Carb rebuild tutorial...https://gsarchive.bwringer.com/mtsac...d_Tutorial.pdf

KZ750E Rebuild Thread...http://www.thegsresources.com/_forum...0-Resurrection

Comment