newbie questions non-running GS850 1980

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

newbie questions non-running GS850 1980

got a deal ($150.00) on a non-running GS850. I would like to see if it runs before I do a whole lot of anything else on it. Starter switch is bad. I lubed the engine with WD40 and MMO, let it sit overnight then cranked it by hand. Changed the oil.
    Hit the starter with a battery to crank her over and get the oil moved around.
    Next, hooked it up to a battery and cranked her up.
    Not really getting a good spark - it is intermittant.
    Questions - I am new to this type of engine. I have "restored" a Honda GL1000 but it is a whole different animal.
    Might be a bit before I get a manual (I am disabled vet on fixed income) but would like to try some things while I am waiting.
    Questions -
    carbs - what the heck keeps the carbs on the intake? I removed the airbox. Those intakes are as hard as rocks and need replaced. They had clamps on them. The carbs are just sitting on the intakes. Can't put clamps on them because there is a protusion (think it is a screw for air maybe ? ) on the intake which keeps a clamp from going around it.
    Does just the force of the airbox keep it attached to the engine ?
    The intake rubber is not bad, but sure does not seem air tight.

Spark - searching for some info, seems a CDI unit is a good place to start for intermittant spark. I do not have a wiring diagram yet, but any tips for checking that out?

Any tips and info is appreciated. I understand I need a manual and that is at the top of my list next month. Just hate waiting a month to play around with her.

Thanks (and I do ask alot of stupid questions - sorry)

Leave it alone for a month and then get a manual. It will save you a bucket load of cash in the long run than tinkering blind now.

OK, thats rude. There places you can download manuals online. It would be better to start there than play around.