Idle issue.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Idle issue.

I'm guessing I just need to let it work itself out, but wanted to make sure. I have an '82 GS650GL that I've salvaged out of my neighbors garage. I hadn't run since late '02. So, as far as the engine is concerned, I haven't had to do too terribly much to get her running. I pulled the plugs and replaced them, redid the valve cover gaskets and stripped and dipped the carbs. Keep in mind, I'm not a mechanical wiz so I stripped down the carbs as far as I could go without digging in to it too much. That means opened it up, pulled plugs and jets, etc. Anyhow, I put everything back together and got her to start up and ride. The issue I'm noticing is that the idling isn't consistent until it's REALLY warmed up, then she idles pretty good. If it hasn't warmed up for a long time and I'm riding it around to check everything out, I can pull in the clutch and get one of three results:

-RPM jumps to about 4rpm
    -RPM drops to normal idle
    -She dies

Soooooooo...WTF? Do I just need to really keep her warmed up big time? Is there probably just a few things in there that need to be worked out from sitting? I have a can of Sea Foam and haven't had a chance to put much time on it (about a mile) since the bars are bent and I haven't picked up the "new" ones yet. Any input is appreciated.

Originally posted by alstensby View Post
    Keep in mind, I'm not a mechanical wiz so I stripped down the carbs as far as I could go without digging in to it too much.