Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Anyone local SoCal Carb Gurus/ Fuel economy ideas?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Anyone local SoCal Carb Gurus/ Fuel economy ideas?

Hi, All

I just went out on a long cruise yesterday with my friend. I am getting poor gas milage. based on my calculations, since my speedo doesn't work, I'm averaging about 30ish mpg. I would at least like to be hitting 50. I calculated this by filling up b4 the cruise and asked my friend to mark his milage. After about midway through the cruise I filled up again which was about 1.5 gals and asked my friend how many miles we traveled, 52, then just divide it by 1.5 and came to 34mpg. Is there anyone is SoCal who can help me out with carbs? I'm new to carbs but am willing to learn. I do have some technical know how just not regarding carbs. If you have a set of carbtune syncs and/or colortune I'd really appreciate it. :grin: I'm in LA area.
    I'm thinking about changing the gearing, what are your thoughts? Do you think the 550 has enough power to holdup to longer gear ratios. I believe stock is 14/47 for my bike.

-groovin

Sounds like you're MPG is low... I get about the same on my 1000G & I know for a fact mine is running rich.

Similar location too.

Dan
    1980 GS1000G - Sold
    1978 GS1000E - Finished!
    1980 GS550E - Fixed & given to a friend
    1983 GS750ES Special - Sold
    2009 KLR 650 - Sold - gone to TX!
    1982 GS1100G - Rebuilt and finished. - Sold
    2009 TE610 - Dual Sporting around dreaming of Dakar..... - FOR SALE!

www.parasiticsanalytics.com

TWINPOT BRAKE UPGRADE LINKY: http://www.thegsresources.com/_forum...e-on-78-Skunk/

Comment

Not until I absolutely have to

Hi sonicgroove,

I've not a minute of experience with carbs. The only reason I can spell carburator is because I have a spell checker. :-D