Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Oil pressure light then stalling - new owner/driver

Hello,

I'm new to owning a bike and to bike maintenance (great combo I know).

I purchased a Suzuki GS400L (1982) in Febuary. It was well maintained before with good records and I've been driving it on nice weather weekend days.

Shortly after the purchase in April I did an oil change at 69,505.1km. I've checked the oil levels since then (on centre stand) and the oil level hasn't changed. This owners manual wasn't specific about if the dipstick needed to be screwed in for checking the level. With the dipstick not screwed in its just at the full line which mean screwing in the dipstick puts the oil level a bit over. There is no leaking around the engine and no spots on the floor after parking for a week.

At close to 70396.6 km the oil light has come on. I've checked the level, still fine. The oil still looks nice and clear. I haven't needed to add any oil. I'm over 3 months but well under the owner's manual 5000 km recommended oil change.

So I had driven the bike for a block and it stalled at the stop sign (engine warm, choke in). Then stalled at the next stop (uphill) so I went home and parked the bike. I'm fairly new to the bike. I don't have a full tank of gas but I believe I have enough fuel that it isn't stalling because of that. The last time I needed the reserve tank the bike stalled and needed to be switched to reserve before it would start again but this time it starts fine and stalls at the stop.

So my questions:
    Why the oil light?
    Dipstick screwed in to check levels?
    Why the stall?
    Could my problem just be low on gas? Should I switch to reserve and try driving it to tank up?

I'm assuming the oil light is an oil pressure light? It is just on when I start driving in first but then goes off. At the time of the oil change I didn't change the filters (the oil we removed was very clear and clean). Should I change the oil filter?