Air Cleaner Box

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Air Cleaner Box

I have a 1981 gs750, pretty reliable bike just hit 51,000 km on it..I got it a couple of years ago from a guy that treated the bike like crap...9 months of cleaning and replacing parts...and it has been running like new for the past 9 months. But in the last couple weeks I've had problem with gas fumes...when I'm stop at a light and the engine bogging down at the same time. In 3rd and up not a problem...mainly because I'm going to fast and I can't smell anything lol...Anyway my question. The hose that connects to the bottom of the air cleaner box was split and had a cut in it..I'lI will be ordering a new one but I'm very concerned with the about of gas in the box. Is this normal? I never had this problem before. I'm not a bike mechanic and the guys at my local shop will not touch the bike because of the age...The only thing I have changed in the last month is I replaced the air filter box cap with the stock metal one...the old one was plastic and broken. I think I'm getting to much gas and the mix is to rich but as I mention I'm just looking for some advice.

Any help would be appreciated.

Gord

An old mod trick on these motors was to up the main jet and remove the airbox lid. Maybe this was done with your bike. Try removing the lid and see if it runs any better.
    Also change the spark plugs and check the connections on the caps.
    Do you have the stock exhaust on it?
    1983 GS 1100E w/ 1230 kit, .340 lift Web Cams, Ape heavy duty valve springs, 83 1100 head with 1.5mm oversized SS intake valves, 1150 crank, Vance and Hines 1150 SuperHub, Star Racing high volume oil pump gears, 36mm carebs Dynojet stage 3 jet kit, Posplayr's SSPB, Progressive rear shocks and fork springs, Dyna 2000, Dynatek green coils and Vance & Hines 4-1 exhaust.
    1985 GS1150ES stock with 85 Red E bodywork.

Comment