pods?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

pods?

I see that a lot of people have added pods to their bikes but I'm having a hard time finding information on what exactly they are and what benefit they bring... can someone enlighten me?

laymans terms please, i'm still learning

Simplest terms, they increase airflow into your engine. They replace the stock airbox. Combined with the correct carb tuning (rejetting) and a good quality aftermarket exhaust, they can help your bike make more power.

Comment

cool, so...
      pods = more power = faster bike?
      ...but only with an aftermarket exhaust?

i guess I'm trying to figure out if its something I'd like to do to my 650, but its a stock exhaust and I dont intend on replacing that anytime soon. basically, i'm trying to see what simple mods/enhancements would be a good idea for me - any other thoughts, or must-do's?

Comment

maybe not so great

The guy I bought my GS250 from had pods in place of the original air box. I guess he didn't know anything about tuning because in order to compensate for the extra air flow he had the choke pulled a quarter of an inch out with a zip tie (some people's kids...). I'm new to all this as well but I think that perhaps for the cv carbs to respond correctly they need a more uniform air flow as given by an air box as opposed to pods.

just my opinion.

Comment

Originally posted by iDodgimus View Post
          cool, so...
          pods = more power = faster bike?
          ...but only with an aftermarket exhaust?

i guess I'm trying to figure out if its something I'd like to do to my 650, but its a stock exhaust and I dont intend on replacing that anytime soon. basically, i'm trying to see what simple mods/enhancements would be a good idea for me - any other thoughts, or must-do's?