New to GS, bike questions

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

New to GS, bike questions

Hey everyone. I'm new to the GS site and to motorcycles in general.
    I purchased my 1981 GS650G from someone off this site about a week ago.
    I'm very glad he told me about this site.

The bike had originally been sitting for a couple years but he got it running. He said he re-did the carbs new plugs and some electrical work. The push start button didn't work when I bought it but I got that working. Charged up the battery and it trys to start.

The problem is that it won't actually get going. I tried a little starting fluid and that helped started to get going but died. Wondering if anyone has any ideas.
    Not sure if it isn't getting enough fuel or there is something else I am missing. I'll probably put in some new plugs later today. Any help would
    be really appreciated, like I said I am very new to the GS bike. I really can't
    wait to get it going so I can ride it.

If a bike has sat for over a month its likely that the pilot jets have started to 'gum' up with old petrol.

If, as you say, the bike had not run for a while its likely that some of the choke/pilot jets will have clogged up.

Don't put any sort of easy start to the engine, you will only create more problems for yourself in the long run.

Firstly check that you have the fuel tap on run. Turn it to prime for a couple of seconds but no longer than say 10. Pull out the choke, turn the ignition on and leave the throttle alone. Using the starter button crank the engine over and it should start. Then put the fuel tap back to the run position.