Cycle Alarms

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Cycle Alarms

Well, I went outside in the snowstorm last night to visit Suzi, and she was knocked over AGAIN... :x :? it happens 2-3 times a year and I'm fed up! Suzi deserves more respect than that! So I decided it's time for a cycle alarm, with a pager, but as a college student, I'm on more than a tight budget. JCWhitney has a cycle alarm with a pager for $99. I was wondering if anyone has used this system and if it's anygood. They claim a range of 1/2 a mile, but all I really need is something that can reach my room 3 floors up and about 50 ft over from where I park her. The building is brick, unfortunately, and it's not line-of-site. (I cannot see the bike from my window.) Will this system work or am I wasting money on the pager option? if it's not gonna page me, I might as well save some cash and just go for a regular 125dB alarm. Any suggestions? And no, I cannot afford a 300+ dollar system that will page me anywhere, I'm on a tight budget. Thank you

O.K., so when the pager goes off what happens. You jump up and look out the window. You see some drunken youths laughing and running from the scene. You quickly don some clothing and run down to find that they are gone and the bike is still going to be laying on its side. Or how about this, the youths aren't running away they are hanging out. And you run down and confront them. Someone gets their butt kicked, could be you, could be them and the bikes still laying on its side. Later on the same party boys are going to say "Let's go tip that guys bike over again 'cause he kicked our butts." or "Lets go tip that bike over again 'cause that was fun and we can kick his butt again." And again, the bikes still laying on its side.
    Kind of a no win situation. I know how hard it can be to find parking at places like this but maybe a different spot would be a better solution.

Steve

Comment