Input on plug chop photo

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Input on plug chop photo

This is my first attempt at a plug Chop. I drove the bike about 3 miles to warm it up. I then ran at around 3500 RPM for 3/4 of a mile to get my Pilot circuit readings. When I neared the driveway to my house I pulled in the clutch and killed the engine, then proceeded to coast into the garage. I pulled the plugs and this is what I found. The tips are fairly shinny.

The bike was jetted with a DJ jet kit back in the mid 80's. Stock Mikuni adjustable needles set at 3 down. Pilots are 45.0. I just installed new 135 Mikuni mains jets because the DJ main jets were corroded from sitting for 18 years.

The Bike runs real strong, but I believe the pilot circuit to on the lean side. I do have a 47.5 pilot jets ordered. Mixture screws 4 turns out.

Your opinions?

Last edited by Guest; 01-21-2008, 12:42 PM.

Sounds like you have the procedure correct. ANd keeping the plugs in order and lableing them is a good idea also. And asking for opinions here on GSR is a good idea too. But what folks really need to see is the ceramic part of the spark plug, so pictures from an angle would see the cermaic part better, need to see the end around the elctrode and up the side and up into the plug some. And could get closer up view of the plugs if they were arranged right next to each other. Does your camera have 'fill flash'? Does your camera have 'macro' for closer up focus?

Maybe some folks here can give some opinion based on the photos, but closer up photos would be better.
    Last edited by Redman; 12-15-2007, 05:44 PM.

Had 850G for 14 years. Now have GK since 2005.
    GK at IndyMotoGP Suzuki Display... ... GK on GSResources Page ... ... Euro Trash Ego Machine .. ..3 mo'cykls.... update 2 mocykl

Comment