Battery drain

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Battery drain

Thanks in advance for any help. I have a 1979 GS550L that I have had and enjoyed (for the most part) for the past two years. (I previously owned a GS650G.) Anyway, since I got the bike I have had problems with consistently getting it started. I have read the Stator papers and am aware of the charging system problems on these cycles. I have bought a new battery each spring because I had trouble keeping a charge in a battery once I started riding. For the past year I had largely kept my battery on a trickle charger between rides but even this didn't seem to keep the battery adequately juiced. This year I decided to test the charging system (via the flow diagram in the Stator papers) after I got a new and freshly and adequately charged battery. I just completed the testing today and results suggest that the charging system in okay. I had to do only the 1st two steps (voltage at 2500 and 5000 rpms) since these came out okay. So if the charging system is okay, why does my battery keep getting drained? Am I missing something obvious here? Sorry about the long-winded request for help. Any suggestions would be appreciated. Thanks again.

You should not have to replace a battery every year....they should last several years.

Since you are trying to maintain a trickle charge between rides, and you are losing juice at a slightly greater rate than your charger puts out, you either have some electrical component turned on, or you have a partial short somewhere.

With the ignition off, check all youur lights to be sure there is not a glimmer of light from any of them.

Pull your headlight out and, with the ignition switch OFF, check all the leads, with a Volt/ Ohmmeter. Do them one at a time, making sure each is properly reconnected before you continue to the next.

Clean your fuse block thoroughly....you may have some electrical crossfeed due to dirt/grease etc.